Physics 402
Fall 2017


Electromagnetism II: time-dependent electromagnetic fields 


Course Materials:

  • Week 0: 8/31                  Review of Electrostatics & Magnetostatics
    Physics 402 syllabus
    Introductory Overheads (August 31, 2017)

  • Week 1: 9/5-7            Introduction to Electrodynamics
    Problem Set 1 (due Thursday, September 14, 2017)

  • Week 2: 9/12-9/14          Maxwell's Equations
    No class on Thursday, September 14, 2017

  • Week 3: 9/19-9/21          Conservation Laws in Electromagnetism
    Problem Set 2 (due Thursday, September 28, 2017)

  • Week 4: 9/26-9/28          Electromagnetic Waves
    Skin effect slides (Tuesday, September 26, 2017)
    VMEC Summer Scholar Program flyer   [WEBSITE]  application deadline: Friday, November 10, 2017
    Problem Set 3 (due Thursday, October 5, 2017)

  • Week 5: 10/3-5          Intro to Optics: EM Waves in Matter
    Problem Set 4 (due Thursday, October 12, 2017)

  • Week 6: 10/10-12          Optics -- continued
    Overheads for October 10-12, 2017 covering p-polarized reflection and transmission, Brewster's angle, and total internal reflection.
    Problem Set 5 (due Thursday, October 26, 2017)

  • Week 7: 10/19                Midterm
    Midterm is Thursday, October 19, 2017.

  • Week 8: 10/24-26      EM Wave in Conductors
    Problem Set 6 (due Thursday, November 2, 2017)

  • Week 9: 10/31-11/2      Cavities and Transmission Lines
    Problem Set 7 (due Thursday, November 16, 2017)

  • Week 10: 11/7-9      Electrodynamic Potentials

  • Week 11: 11/14-16        EM fields of charges in motion
    Problem Set 8 (due Thursday, November 30, 2017)

  • Week 12: 11/21       Dipole Radiation
    Dipole radiation slides (Tuesday, November 21, 2017)

Web page updated: November 21, 2017.